50 AHRC Doctoral Studentships in London and the South-East


Qualification type:  PhD

Location: London and the South-East

Funding for: UK and EU students, subject to eligibility

Funding amount: AHRC stipend and fees

Hours: Full time or part time

TECHNE is an Arts and Humanities Research Council Doctoral Training Partnership providing full scholarships and researcher development across the arts and humanities. TECHNE is a consortium of seven universities:

University of the Arts London

University of Brighton

Kingston University

University of Roehampton

Royal College of Art

Royal Holloway University of London

University of Surrey

There will be an Open Evening where potential applicants can talk informally to academic and administrative staff from a range of disciplines and institutions on Tuesday 2nd November at Royal Holloway Bedford Square in central London.  To register go to  http://techne-open-evening.eventbrite.co.uk/

About 50 TECHNE scholarships (stipend and fees according to eligibility) are available for October 2017 entry. We offer our students scholarly training and other opportunities to develop skills in innovation, critical thinking, risk taking, creativity and communication that are valued in academic and work contexts. Our aim is to produce doctoral students skilled in the craft of research and equipped for a range of careers.

 TECHNE offers:

  • Collaborative engagement with 14 Partners in the cultural sector
  • Varied disciplinary and interdisciplinary training and networking opportunities
  • An intellectually innovative and experimental environment

If you wish to apply please have a look at the TECHNE website [ www.techne.ac.uk  ] and then contact the University you are most interested in, mentioning that you wish to be considered for  a TECHNE scholarship. In order to be considered, you need to apply to, and be recommended by, one of the seven member universities: you cannot apply directly to TECHNE. The deadline for a TECHNE application to be received by a member university is the 29th January 2017.

Initial contact details at each member university and full details of how to apply are on the TECHNE website, but if you have questions please email techne@royalholloway.ac.uk .