MRC WIMM Prize PhD Studentships

University of Oxford – MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine (WIMM)

The MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine (WIMM) has fully funded 4-year Prize PhD (DPhil) Studentships available to start in October 2018. These Studentships are open to outstanding students of any nationality who wish to train in experimental and/or computational biology.

The Institute is a world leading molecular and cell biology centre that focuses on research with application to human disease. It includes the recently opened MRC WIMM Centre for Computational Biology and houses over 500 research and support staff in 50 research groups working on a range of fields in Haematology, Gene Regulation & Epigenetics, Stem Cell Biology, Computational Biology, Cancer Biology, Human Genetics, Infection & Immunity. The Institute is committed to training the next generation of scientists in these fields through its Prize PhD Studentship Programme.

The fully funded studentships include a stipend of £18,000 per annum and cover University and College fees. 

Further information on the studentships, how to apply, and the projects available can be found at:

Closing date for submission of applications:  Monday, 8 January 2018, 12 noon UK time.  

Interviews will take place the week commencing 22 January 2018.

Pure Computational Biology Project Leaders

  • Hashem Koohy - Machine-learning in gene function, transcription regulation and immunology
  • Ed Morrissey - Quantitative biology of cell fate
  • Aleksandr Sahakyan - Regulatory chromosomal domains and genome architecture
  • Supat Thongjuea - Computational biology of single-cell transcription and gene regulation 

Molecular and Cell Biology Project Leaders

  • Ahmed Ahmed - Experimental therapeutics
  • Chris Babbs - Causes of congenital anaemia
  • Oliver Bannard – B cell biology
  • Andrew Blackford - DNA damage and disease
  • Walter Bodmer - Colorectal cancer, stem cells, differentiation & drug response
  • Marella De Bruijn - Developmental haematopoiesis
  • Zam Cader - Stem cell neurological disease models
  • Vincenzo Cerundolo - Tumour immunology, vaccine strategies
  • David Clynes - DNA damage, repair and cancer
  • Simon Davis - T-cell biology
  • Hal Drakesmith - Iron and infection
  • Christian Eggeling - Super-resolution microscopy in immunology
  • Marco Fritzsche - Biophysical immunology
  • Lars Fugger - Multiple sclerosis
  • Tudor Fulga - MicroRNAs in development and disease
  • Richard Gibbons - Chromatin, epigenetics & transcription
  • Anne Goriely - De novo mutations and human disease
  • Doug Higgs - Gene regulation and epigenetics
  • Ling-Pei Ho - Lung immunology
  • Georg Hollander - T cell development and thymus organogenesis
  • David Jackson - Lymphatic trafficking in inflammation and cancer
  • Peter McHugh - DNA repair
  • Adam Mead - Normal and leukaemic haematopoietic stem cell biology
  • Claus Nerlov - Tissue stem cell genetics
  • Graham Ogg - Translational skin research
  • Catherine Porcher - Transcription factors and blood development
  • Jan Rehwinkel - Innate detection of viruses
  • Irene Roberts - Trisomy 21, haematopoiesis and leukaemia
  • Tatjana Sauka-Spengler - Neural crest gene regulatory networks
  • Alison Simmons - Innate immunity & Crohn’s disease
  • Alain Townsend - Influenza and ebola, vaccination and treatment
  • Paresh Vyas - Leukaemic stem cells
  • Andrew Wilkie - Sperm and craniofacial mutations