UK Immigration: Working Visas

      Share by Email   Print this article   More sharing options  

If you are interested in working in the UK, there are a number of UK visa options to choose from. UK immigration operates on a five-tier system, with different rules and eligibility criteria for each category of UK visa.

Tier 1 visas are for foreigners with exceptional talent. It is available to entrepreneurs, investors, and anyone else with exceptional skills or talent. Eligibility depends on the applicant’s business dealings in Britain, or proof of exceptional skills and talent.

Tier 2 visas cover work permits for medium- and highly-skilled migrants. To apply for this type of visa, you must already have an offer of employment from a UK business. You must also meet requirements based on your skills, experience and income.

Tier 3 visas are a temporary visa for low-skilled workers. This scheme is currently suspended by the UK, as there is already a strong supply of labour from the European Economic Area.

Tier 4 visas are for students wishing to study in the UK, and therefore do not apply to jobseekers.

Tier 5 visas allow people to work in the UK for a short-term period. They are also designed for 18-30 year-olds who wish to live in the UK on a working holiday.

Share this article:

      Share by Email   Print this article   More sharing options  

What do you think about this article? Email your thoughts and feedback to us

Connect with us

method: articleAction method: setArticleToView