Tianjin University

As the first modern university in China, Tianjin University (TJU) was founded in 1895, its predecessor being Peiyang University which was 120 years old. TJU has been recognised nationwide and overseas for its motto of “Seeking Truth from Facts”, the ethos of “Precision in Learning and Strictness in Teaching”, and the tradition of “Patriotic Dedication”. TJU was identified as one of the first batch of the 16 National Key Universities designated by the government, and it is also among the first group of institutions of higher learning to be included into Projects 211 and 985 of national investment for developing world-recognised universities.

Over the years, TJU has given precedence to the field of engineering and focuses on integrating science with engineering. Disciplines including economics, business, humanities, law, and education have also been developed. Furthermore, with a focus on the major strategic demands of the nation, as well as the frontiers of world technology, TJU combines cultivation of talent, disciplinary development and scientific research. TJU continuously enhances its administrative quality and the competitiveness of its faculty, facilitating the combining of research and education to sustain industrial development and ultimately to serve the construction of an innovation-oriented nation.

With deepening reform of the personnel system, TJU is establishing a tenure system with its own characteristics. As a new campus was put into use in 2015 to pave the way for development, TJU has intensified its effort for talent recruitment via the Outstanding Peiyang Scholars Program. TJU provides competitive compensation and a liberal academic environment with an advanced administrative service. With the contribution of worldwide talents in this program, TJU aims to build a top-notch faculty team and facilitate the construction of a first-class university with top-quality disciplines.

Jobs Our Website Faculty News Contact Us

Key facts

  • Located in Tianjin, China
  • About 4600 faculty and staff
  • About 33,000 students
  • Two campuses and an area of 3,120,000 square metres