Economic and Social Science Research Council PhD Studentships

South West Doctoral Training Partnership

We are delighted to announce the availability of 45 fully-funded studentships in the ESRC accredited South West Doctoral Training Partnership (SWDTP). The SWDTP draws together the Universities of Bristol, Exeter, Bath, Plymouth, and the University of the West of England. These have a strong track record in advancing knowledge through high quality research and teaching in partnership with business, professions, the public services, the third sector, and other research and learning providers.

Applications are invited from potential doctoral students for the following social science pathways

Disciplinary Pathways:

  • Area and Development Studies
  • Economic and Social History
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Human Geography
  • Management and Business Studies
  • Political Science and International Studies
  • Psychology
  • Social Policy
  • Social Work
  • Socio-legal Studies
  • Sociology

Interdisciplinary Pathways:

  • Advanced Quantitative Methods
  • Sustainable Futures
  • Global Political Economy
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Security, Conflict and Human Rights

Applications with a strong collaborative focus are encouraged. Please see the ESRC website for collaboration guidance at

The closing date for studentship applications is noon on Tuesday 30th January 2017.

For more information about the SWDTP application process, pathways at each institution and for details of strategic steers in some areas please visit