Full time PhD Studentship

Open University - Faculty of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

The Open University’s Knowledge Media Institute (KMi) is a distinct research unit within the Faculty of STEM, and is home to internationally recognized researchers in semantic technologies, data science, educational multimedia, collaboration technologies, artificial intelligence, cognitive science, and human-computer interaction. KMi offers students an intellectually challenging environment with exceptional research and computer facilities, located at the OU headquarters in Milton Keynes, which is 30 minutes by train from central London. Past KMi PhD students pursue successful careers in academia and industry, and have won a number of distinguished awards, including the 2016 and 2017 SWSA Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

Applications are invited from UK, EU and ROW for a full-time 3-year funded studentship commencing February 2018, on the following PhD topics. For further information, contact details are provided for each topic.

Please make a choice of one from these following topics:-

Interactive live webcasting for distance learning. Contact: Trevor Collins (trevor.collins@open.ac.uk).

Technology enhanced fieldwork learning. Contact: Trevor Collins (trevor.collins@open.ac.uk).

Understanding and forecasting the spreading of research concepts. Contact: Enrico Motta (enrico.motta@open.ac.uk) and Francesco Osborne (francesco.osborne@open.ac.uk).

Exploratory search in large heterogeneous data hubs. Contact: Enrico Motta (enrico.motta@open.ac.uk) and Francesco Osborne (francesco.osborne@open.ac.uk).

Hate speech detection and prediction on social media. Contact: Miriam Fernandez (miriam.fernandez@open.ac.uk).

Analysing healthcare-focused social media communities for disease support. Contact: Miriam Fernandez (miriam.fernandez@open.ac.uk).

Visual Food Log Analysis. Contact: Stefan Rüger (stefan.rueger@open.ac.uk).

Realtime shape analysis. Contact: Stefan Rüger (stefan.rueger@open.ac.uk).

Misinformation and fake news on social media. Contact: Harith Alani (h.alani@open.ac.uk).

Investigating Worldwide Inequality and Bias in Knowledge Communities. Contact: Harith Alani (h.alani@open.ac.uk) and Gregoire Burel (gregoire.burel@open.ac.uk).

Checking claims made in scientific literature. Contact: Advaith Siddharthan (advaith.siddharthan@open.ac.uk).

Scrutable Machine Learning. Contact: Advaith Siddharthan (advaith.siddharthan@open.ac.uk).

Discovering facts to support claims Contact Petr Knoth (petr.knoth@open.ac.uk) and Zdenek Zdrahal (zdenek.zdrahal@open.ac.uk).

Large-scale real-time aggregation and synchronization of web & knowledge resources. Contact Petr Knoth (petr.knoth@open.ac.uk) and Zdenek Zdrahal (zdenek.zdrahal@open.ac.uk).

Identifying and predicting research & innovation trends. Contact Zdenek Zdrahal (zdenek.zdrahal@open.ac.uk) and Petr Knoth (petr.knoth@open.ac.uk).

Reproducibility of text and data mining workflows. Contact Zdenek Zdrahal (zdenek.zdrahal@open.ac.uk) and Petr Knoth (petr.knoth@open.ac.uk).

Crowdsourcing Data Mining: Collaboratively Generating Meaningful Actionable Insights from Big Data Sources. Contact: Anna De Liddo (anna.deliddo@open.ac.uk).

Collective intelligence and Explainable AI interfaces for the Common Good. Contact: Anna De Liddo (anna.deliddo@open.ac.uk).

Linked Data and Distributed Ledgers. Contact: Allan Third (allan.third@open.ac.uk) and John Domingue (john.domingue@open.ac.uk).

Citizen interpretation of digital cultural artefacts and data. Contact: Paul Mulholland (paul.muholland@open.ac.uk).

We strongly recommend that you contact the researcher(s) associated with the topic to discuss your interest prior to writing your proposal.

You will have a first or upper second class degree from a UK university or the overseas equivalent and ideally a relevant Master’s degree. Unless from a majority English-speaking country, non-EEA applicants will require an IELTS score of 6.5 with a minimum of 6 in each element of Listening, Reading, Speaking and Writing.  IELTS Certificates are valid for a period of 2-years. All applications are assessed as to their quality, the fit with The Open University research priorities and the availability of supervisors in the relevant field.

Interviews: to be advised

For detailed information and how to apply go to http://www3.open.ac.uk/employment/, call the Recruitment Co-ordinator on +44 (0)1908 654774 or email kmi-recruitment@open.ac.uk quoting the reference number.

Equal Opportunity is University Policy

Share this PhD
     
  Share by Email   Print this job   More sharing options
We value your feedback on the quality of our adverts. If you have a comment to make about the overall quality of this advert, or its categorisation then please send us your feedback
Advert information

Type / Role:

PhD

Location(s):

South East England